Canadian Premed and Medical Schools  

Go Back   Canadian Premed and Medical Schools > General Premed Discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-02-2010, 06:29 PM

Default Straight to medical school after High School.

Hi all, I am an avid reader of this forum and have learned a lot through it, I have not yet posted on this forum but I have decided to change that, here I go.
I am a high school student who is resided in Newfoundland Labrador, I am interested in becoming a physician. This is besides the point, I have a friend who has applied to medical schools in the United Kingdom so that he can go straight to medical school. In fact he has spent thousands of dollars on applying, and has received one interview at this current moment. My question concerns the pros, and cons about going to medical school after high school. Most of you will say it's four years less, but he has to spend ten's of thousands of dollars for the international fee if he gets in, also this has to do with maturity, is he ready for the change of high school straight to medical school which I suspect most aren't. But mainly his father is a physician and as his friend I can see that his father expects him to be a physician, but what if he doesn't like medical school and decides to quit, he then has no back ground to fail back on.
Enough of me ranting on, I am aware it is his decision and I hope he succeeds but what do you think the pros and cons of this are?

Last edited by ScorpioMed : 02-02-2010 at 07:20 PM.
Old 02-02-2010, 07:08 PM

Interesting question. In Quebec, you go from h.s. to Cegep (college) for 2 years and top students then can get into med school doing just one yr UG. They are in the same class as students with bachelor degrees and PhD and they hold their own and do well.