PDA

View Full Version : percentage of students with 3.9+ GPA?

h3jk5h
12-26-2011, 10:37 PM
I'm a first year student who is studying at u of t. I am wondering if there is official statistic of how many students or the percentage of university students (u of t especially) get above 3.9+ gpa? 5%? 10%?

I have average intelligence compared to the average university student, can hard ethic alone get me 3.9+ gpa?

I'm looking for some motivation..

Singh
12-26-2011, 10:50 PM
In terms of ranking at U of T, all I know is this:

- if you get the Dean's List award, GPA > 3.5, you fall in the top 10% in the Faculty of Arts & Sciences

- if you get the University of Toronto Scholar Award, you fall in the top 50 science students in your year (percentage-based)

- you can always go to your college, ask and they'll find out your rank (it's either GPA or percentage-based, not sure which). mind you, it'll be a rank for students in your college, not the entire university

charmer08
12-27-2011, 09:05 AM
GPA > 3.7 = the top 15% in the university
(Golden Key honour society tells us that :/)

But 3.9+ gpas are rare... Most of those will be found in the sciences tho.

medigeek
12-27-2011, 12:29 PM
I would work for a >3.9 cause then if you do it right, you'll end up at about a 3.80 which still gives you a good shot in Ontario, especially if your best 2 years are higher/3rd year is best.. etc etc

I don't know how smart you are, but you do need to be quite smart (relative to your student population) to achieve a 3.9 on top of extensive hard work.

muse87
12-27-2011, 12:41 PM